Home » Sport » Tour de France winner confirmed for CRO Race

Tour de France winner confirmed for CRO Race

CRO Race starts - Croatia beamed live to 130 countries around the world

(Photo credit: KL-Photo)

ZAGREB, 17 Sept (Hina) – The seventh edition of the CRO Race, the bicycle race through Croatia, will take place from 27 September to 2 October, starting in the eastern city of Osijek and finishing in the capital Zagreb.

This year’s winner of the Tour de France, Jonas Vingegaard of Denmark, has announced his arrival, and two winners of the last five years have also applied, the director of the CRO Race, Vladimir Miholjević, announced at a press conference in Sveta Nedelja on Thursday.

This small town, just west of Zagreb, will host the start of the final, sixth stage of the race. 

CRO Race 2021 to take place from 28 Sept to 3 Oct

(Photo: CRO Race)

It will be the second time for Sveta Nedelja to host some of the best cyclists in the world.

Sveta Nedelja alternates with adjacent Samobor in hosting the start of the final stage of the race. It played host three years ago, while Samobor did so in 2017, 2018 and 2021.

The stages stretch through the whole Croatia

Traditionally, the CRO Race starts from Osijek, the host of the first stage, which this year ends in Ludbreg. The second stage starts in picturesque Otočac with the finish line in Zadar. An excitement awaits us on the third day of the race, with start in Sinj and finish line in Primošten.

The competition continues with the fourth stage from Biograd na Moru to Crikvenica, and in the fifth, cyclists will reach the KOM from Opatija to Labin. The sixth, also the final stage, runs from Sveta Nedelja to Zagreb, where the overall winner of the CRO Race will be traditionally announced.

(Photo: CRO Race)

The big names of professional cycling in Croatia

The CRO Race is becoming stronger every year in terms of competition, which is a clear indication of its recognition in the world of professional cycling. At today’s press conference held in Sveta Nedelja, the host city of the start of the last stage, it was announced that some of the best cycling teams such as Trek-Segafredo, Jumbo-Visma, Ineos Grenadiers, Bahrain Victorious and others will compete in this year’s CRO Race. Some of the more famous names are Phil Bauhaus, Damiano Caruso and Matej Mohorič from Bahrain Victorius, which is Fran Miholjević’s new team too. Famous Bernal Gomez, Castroviejo, Kwiatkowski, Thomas, Viviani and many other top-class cyclists will also participate.

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts