Home » Sport » World Cup 2018: Luka Modric Wins Golden Ball

World Cup 2018: Luka Modric Wins Golden Ball

Luka Modric (HNS)

Croatian captain Luka Modic has won the 2018 FIFA World Cup Golden Ball.

The Golden Ball award is presented to the best player of the FIFA World Cup with Modric winning the vote by representatives of the media after a shortlist of players was drawn up by the FIFA technical committee.

Previous winners of the award include Paolo Rossi, Diego Maradona, Ronaldo, Zinedine Zidane and Lionel Messi.
Eden Hazard won the Silver Ball, whilst Antoine Griezmann took away the Bronze Ball award.

Modric was phenomenal for Croatia at this year’s tournament. With a penalty in the opening match against Nigeria and a stunning goal against Argentina, the Real Madrid star scored two goals and won the Man of the Match award four times.

Luka Modric celebrates scoring against Argentina (HNS)

Modric is the first Croatian player to win the prestigious award. Davor Suker won the Golden Boot for the top scorer at the 1998 World Cup in France.

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts