Home » Sport » Split to host Davis Cup Finals

Split to host Davis Cup Finals

The Croatian city of Split will host the Davis Cup Finals Group Stage tournament in September, the International Tennis Federation (ITF) announced on Wednesday, confirming that the tournament will be held at the Gripe Indoor Arena from September 12th to 17th.

Alongside Croatia, the teams competing in Split include the United States, the Netherlands, and Finland. The top two teams from each of the four groups will advance to the finals. 

The other three groups will be playing in Bologna, Manchester, and Valencia.

All matches in Split are scheduled to start at 3:00 PM. Tickets will be available for purchase starting Thursday, July 27th, on the website www.ulaznice.hr/daviscup. Fans will have the option to buy daily passes, packages to support a specific team, or packages for all six days of the tournament.

In the first match on September 12th, last year’s quarterfinalist, the Netherlands, will face debutant Finland, who is participating in the Davis Cup finals for the first time. On Wednesday, September 13th, Croatia will play against the United States, followed by a match against Finland on Friday and against the Netherlands on Sunday.

Here is the schedule:

September 12th: Netherlands vs. Finland

September 13th: Croatia vs. USA

September 14th: Netherlands vs. USA

September 15th: Croatia vs. Finland

September 16th: USA vs. Finland

September 17th: Croatia vs. Netherlands

Apart from Group D in Split, three other groups will be playing in different cities during the same week. Group A (Canada, Italy, Sweden, and Chile) will be in Bologna, Group B (Australia, Great Britain, France, and Switzerland) in Manchester, and Group C (Spain, Serbia, Czech Republic, and South Korea) in Valencia. Eight teams, two from each group, will advance to the final tournament in Malaga from November 21st to 26th.

Croatia was a semifinalist last year and a finalist the previous season, having won the Davis Cup twice so far. “We are delighted that the Davis Cup Group D final will be held in Croatia. Split is a beautiful city with a rich history and a strong tennis tradition. It will be an exciting experience for the players, teams, as well as tennis enthusiasts from the USA, Finland, and the Netherlands. This is also a great opportunity for Croatian fans to witness high-quality matches at home, and I don’t need to emphasize how important that is for the unique atmosphere of the Davis Cup,” said Nikolina Babić, the President of the Croatian Tennis Federation.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Hrvatski teniski savez (@hts_sluzbeni)

David Haggerty, the President of the ITF, stated: “The stage is set for an exciting week of Davis Cup tennis in September. We are pleased to confirm Split as the fourth host city for the group stage of the Davis Cup finals and are looking forward to a fantastic event at the Gripe Indoor Arena. This is a captivating phase of the competition, with 16 teams battling for a place in the knockout stage at the Final 8 in Malaga in November. It will undoubtedly bring unforgettable moments and bring out the best in the world’s elite players proudly representing their countries. I encourage all fans to come and cheer for their teams and experience the unique atmosphere of the Davis Cup themselves.”

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts