Home » Sport » FIFA reveals who voted for who in Player of the Year award

FIFA reveals who voted for who in Player of the Year award

Luka Modrić (HNS)

Last night Croatia’s captain Luka Modrić was named the best footballer in the world when he won The Best FIFA Men’s Player for 2018 at a ceremony in London. 

Modrić was voted the best in the world after captains, managers and a media officials from each member nation in the world cast their votes. 

After last night’s ceremony FIFA revealed the breakdown of the vote with some surprising selections. 

Modrić received 29.05 per cent of the vote, with Ronaldo second receiving 19.08 per cent and Mo Salah 11.23 per cent.

Luka Modrić and family at the awards in London (FIFA/The Best)

Here were some of the selections from the captains. 

Lionel Messi (Argentina)

  1. Luka Modrić
  2. Kylian Mbappé
  3. Cristiano Ronaldo

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)

  1. Raphaël Varane
  2. Luka Modrić
  3. Antoine Griezmann

Luka Modrić (Croatia)

  1. Raphaël Varane
  2. Ronaldo
  3. Antoine Griezmann

Real Madrid’s Raphaël Varane (FIFA)

Harry Kane (England)

  1. Cristiano Ronaldo
  2. Lionel Messi
  3. Kevin De Bruyne

Eden Hazard (Belgium)

  1. Luka Modrić
  2. Raphaël Varane
  3. Kylian Mbappé

Mile Jedinak (Australia)

  1. Luka Modrić
  2. Ronaldo
  3. Mo Salah

Chiellini Giorgio (Italy)

  1. Ronaldo
  2. Modrić
  3. Mo Salah

Edin Džeko (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

  1. Luka Modrić
  2. Mo Salah
  3. Ronaldo

Lloris Hugo (France)

  1. Raphaël Varane
  2. Antoine Griezmann
  3. Mbappé Kylian

You can see who voted for who here. 


Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts