Home » Sport » Dinamo Zagreb wins Croatian title for 20th time

Dinamo Zagreb wins Croatian title for 20th time

(Photo: HNS)

19 April 2019 – Dinamo Zagreb have sealed the Croatian league title on Friday after a 1-0 win over Slaven Belupo in Koprivnica. 

The Zagreb-based club claimed the HNL 2018-19 title six rounds before the end of the season win tonight’s victory thanks to a goal from Amer Gojak. 

The Nenad Bjelica coached side assured the title with 79 points after 30 rounds. Second place Rijeka are 23 points behind Dinamo Zagreb and can no longer mathematically catch them. 

The title is the 20th for the club since Croatia gained independence and the 30th in total in the club’s history. Next season the club’s crest on the shirt will have an extra star with stars added after every 10th title. 

Dinamo Zagreb have had a great season, reaching the last 16 of the UEFA Europa League. The Croatian club won their Europa League group before beating FC Viktoria Plzeň in the Round of 32. 

Dinamo Zagreb had a great run in Europe (Photo: HNS)

The club earned over 15 million euros for their European success before Benfica knocked them out. 

The club’s youth side this season reached the quarter-final of the Champions League and are in the final of the Premier League International Championships. 

Share on:

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts