Home » Sport » Croatian women’s team win international tournament in Cyprus 

Croatian women’s team win international tournament in Cyprus 

Croatia celebrate (Photo HNS)

Whilst football around the world comes to a grinding halt, the Croatian women’s team have just returned from winning an international tournament in Cyprus. 

Croatia, led by coach Mate Prskala, has won the 13th Cyprus Women’s Cup in Larnaca after remaining unbeaten. 

A come from behind victory over favourites Finland 3-2 in the opening match and a 1-1 draw with Mexico was enough to give the Croatians the title. 

(Photo: HNS)

With Thailand having to pull out of the tournament, Finland, Mexico, Croatia, Slovakia, and the Czech Republic battled it out earlier this week with Finland having to settle for second place behind Croatia. Mexico were third, followed by the Czech Republic and Slovakia. 

There was more good news for the Croatians with Ivana Rudelic named player of the tournament and Isabela Lojna the third top goalscorer with two goals. 

(Photo: HNS)

The winning Croatian team was; Anamarija Misetic (Split), Stephanie Bukovec (Ajax), Matea Bosnjak (Split), Iva Bukac (Split), Kristina Sundov (Basel), Jelena Kesina (Neretva), Ana Dujmovic (Split), Antonija Dulcic (Split), Anela Lubina (Split), Mihaela Horvat (Horn), Ana Jelencic (Sporting de Huelva), Iva Landeka (Montpellier), Izabela Lojna (Osijek), Leonarda Balog (SKN Pölten), Kristina Nevrkla (Osijek), Ivana Rudelic (Bayer Leverkusen), Helena Spajic (Horn), Petra Pezelj (Split) and Lea Zdunic (Dinamo).

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts