Home » Sport » China Cup 2017: Croatia Name Youthful Squad

China Cup 2017: Croatia Name Youthful Squad

Ante Čačić (photo: HNS)

Croatia coach Ante Čačić has named his squad of 18 for the upcoming China Cup tournament in January 2017.

Čačić has given an opportunity for local based players with the majority of the squad coming from the Croatian first division.

All of Croatia’s stars will not travel to China for the tournament which takes place in Nanning city from 10 – 15 January 2017.

There are five players from top of the table Rijeka, four from Dinamo Zagreb, three from Osijek and two from Hajduk Split in the squad.

The side gathers in Zagreb on 7 January 2017 before flying out the same day to China.

Croatia will take part in the tournament with the hosts China, Iceland, and Chile. The tournament will see the four teams play semi-finals after the draw is made with the two winners of those matches playing a final on 15 January. Croatia faces Chile on 11 January.

Matej Mitrović (photo credit: HNS)

The first China Cup comes as China’s national team prepares to compete for a place in the 2018 World Cup in Russia. China is the world’s most populous soccer market and the Asian nation has invested a lot of money recently as they aim to a force in the game in the not too distant future.

Croatia’s 18-man China Cup squad

Goal keepers: Andrej Prskalo (Rijeka), Dominik Livaković (Dinamo)

Defenders: Matej Mitrović (Rijeka), Josip Pivarić (Dinamo), Borna Barišić (Osijek), Mateo Barač (Osijek), Josip Juranović (Hajduk), Jakov Filipović (Inter), Toni Datković (Koper)

Midfielders: Josip Mišić (Rijeka), Mate Maleš (Rijeka), Franko Andrijašević (Rijeka), Mario Šitum (Dinamo), Domagoj Antolić (Dinamo), Nikola Vlašić (Hajduk), Filip Ozobić (Gabala)

Strikers: Antonio Perošević (Osijek), Mirko Marić (Lokomotiva)

Share on:
0 / 5 (0 votes)

Related Posts

Lonely Planet’s Best in Europe 2017: Zagreb Ranked No.1 Destination

Lonely Planet, the world’s largest travel guide publisher, has revealed its Best in Europe 2017 and the Croatian capital has come out on top. The prestigious global travel company released its top picks for the most exciting European destinations to visit in 2017 today with Zagreb ranked No.1 in Europe. Gotland in Sweden was second...

10 Most Beautiful Churches in Croatia

There are many breathtaking architectural sacral monuments around Croatia, such as the Cathedral in the eastern town of Osijek, and many other beautiful churches in Slavonia and Zagorje. The stunning Church of St. Euphemia in Rovinj and Euphrasian Basilica in Poreč, as well as numerous examples of Medieval, Gothic and Renaissance architecture along the Adriatic...

Korčula’s Famous Moreška Dance Goes Rock

The project “LIVE GROW FLOURISH” continues on the 8th of July at 21h in Korcula with a concert and a dance spectacle combining tradition and contemporary – “Moreška & Rolin Humes”. At this unique event, in front of an abandoned thermal power station next to the ferry port Dominče, the people of Korčula and their...

[VIDEO] Neretva – The Valley of Life

Croatia is full of beautiful places. Not all of them are on the tourist radar however. The Neretva Valley, just a 90 minute drive from Dubrovnik, is one of those that tourists visiting Croatia not often hear about. The Neretva river, which flows throw the valley and is one of Croatia’s most valuable freshwater resources,...