Home » Latest » UK Confirm Croatian Workers Restrictions

UK Confirm Croatian Workers Restrictions

Speculation that British government would impose restrictions on Croatian workers once Croatia becomes a full European Union member state on 1 July was confirmed yesterday (Friday).

Under the transitional restrictions which the British government have introduced, Croatian nationals will be subject to a requirement to obtain work authorization if they intend to work in the UK. The British government want to continue supporting the British economy by attracting the best and most skilled workers from the entire world taking into account not to discriminate against the rights of those people already living in Britain.

Germany, Austria and Holland have already confirmed restrictions for Croatian nationals wishing to work there. Denmark, Finland, Estonia and Lithuania will not impose restrictions whilst France, Portugal, Poland and Slovenia are yet to make an announcement.

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter