Home » Sport » Bruno Petkovic voted Croatian player of the year by captains 

Bruno Petkovic voted Croatian player of the year by captains 

ZAGREB, 17 December 2019 – Dinamo Zagreb and Croatia striker Bruno Petkovic has been voted the 17th Croatian first division player of the year by all the captains in the HNL.  

Each captain in the Croatian first division selected five players that they felt showed the most on the field in 2019 with Petkovic collecting 74 out of a possible 100 points. 

In second place was Petkovic’s teammate and last year’s winner Dani Olmo, while Hajduk’s Mia Caktas was third. 

“I am proud of this award because I believe that there is no more credible judgment than that involving persons engaged in the same business. A fantastic year is behind me in the Dinamo jersey and the national team, and apart from exiting the Champions League, I would hardly choose a better scenario than this one. I want to thank everyone who has been a part of my journey. From Dinamo, the people running the club, coach Bjelica and his assistants, my teammates who helped me to be here with you with this prize in my hand. I also want to thank the coaching staff of the national team, and of course my teammates. I must also not forget the fans that we are all here for. Lastly, thanks to my agent and my family. I’m sure they are proud of me,” Petkovic said after collecting the award organised by tportal. 

Croatian first division (HNL) player of the year voted by the captains

Bruno Petkovic (Dinamo) – 74 points

Dani Olmo (Dinamo) – 58

Mijo Caktas (Hajduk) – 30

Dominik Livakovic (Dinamo) – 26

Kristijan Lovric (Gorica) – 18

Mislav Orsic (Dinamo) – 12

Franko Andrijasevic (Rijeka) – 10

Darko Nejasmic (Hajduk) – 10

Marko Tolic (Lokomotiva) – 10

Arijan Ademi (Dinamo) – 6

Jairo de Macedo da Silva (Hajduk) – 6

Mile Skoric (Osijek) – 6…

Previous winners 

2003 – Niko Kranjcar (Dinamo)

2004 – Tomislav Erceg (Rijeka)

2005 – Eduardo da Silva (Dinamo)

2006 – Eduardo da Silva (Dinamo)

2007 – Luka Modric (Dinamo)

2008 – Mario Mandzukic (Dinamo)

2009 – Ermin Zec (Sibenik)

2010 – Sammir (Dinamo)

2011 – Ivan Santini (Zadar)

2012 – Sammir (Dinamo)

2013 – Leon Benko (Rijeka)

2014 – Andrej Kramaric (Rijeka)

2015 – Marin Tomasov (Rijeka)

2016 – Franko Andrijasevic (Rijeka)

2017 – El Arabi Hilal Soudani (Dinamo)

2018 – Dani Olmo Carvajal (Dinamo)

2019 – Bruno Petkovic (Dinamo)

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts