Home » Sport » 2019 World Water Polo Championships: Croatia squad & schedule announced

2019 World Water Polo Championships: Croatia squad & schedule announced

(Photo: HVS)

ZAGREB, 4 July 2019 –  The 2019 FINA World Water Polo Championships will be held in Gwangju, South Korea from 15 to 27 July 2019. 

Croatia head to South Korea as defending champions after winning gold at the last World Water Polo Championships in 2017 in Hungary. Croatia has been preparing for the last 8 days in Šibenik and this week coach Ivica Tucak announced his squad for the tournament. 

Croatia squad – 2019 FINA World Water Polo Championships

1.Marko Bijač
2.Hrvoje Benić
3.Loren Fatović
4.Luka Lončar
5.Maro Joković
6.Ante Vukičević
7.Andro Bušlje
8.Lovre Miloš
9.Josip Vrlić
10.Anđelo Šetka
11.Javier Garcia Gadea
12.Ivan Marcelić
13.Marko Macan


  • Ivica Tucak
  • Mile Smodlaka
  • Sandro Sukno  
  • Pero Kuterovac
  • Damir Luketić
  • Petar Coce
  • Igor Pezelj
  • Renato Živković
  • Dinko Pivalica

Croatia will open their campaign against Australia on 15 July before meeting USA, and Kazakhstan. All matches will be live on HRT.

The squad departs from Split on Monday, 8 July. 

“The atmosphere is great. We all believe we can achieve an excellent result in Korea. This is the most important, as well as securing our visa for Tokyo (Olympics). We all hope that we will succeed and we leave full of desire and motivated for the World Cup,” captain Andro Bušlje said. 

(Photo: HVS)


15 July – 1st round: Croatia – Australia (05.30 – Croatian time)

17 July – 2nd round: Croatia – USA (02.50)

19 July – 3rd round: Croatia – Kazakhstan (13.30)

Quarterfinals: 21 & 23 July 

Semifinal:  25 July

3rd & 4th:  27 July

Final: 27 July

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts