Home » Sport » Two Croatian players shortlisted for FIFA World 11 team 

Two Croatian players shortlisted for FIFA World 11 team 

5 September 2019 – FIFA and FIFApro have today announced the 55 candidates for the Word 11 team of the year which will be named at the FIFA The Best ceremony in Milan, Italy later this month.

Two Croatian players have been shortlisted, three less than in 2018 after Croatia reached the final of the World Cup. Real Madrid’s Luka Modrić and Barcelona’s Ivan Rakitić are shortlisted among the top 15 midfielders. 

Brazil is the most-represented nation, with seven of their national team players included, while Barcelona (11) and Real Madrid (nine) leading the clubs.

Over 23,000 professionals have voted and the World 11 will be revealed on Monday 23 September at the ceremony in Milan.  

FIFA and FIFApro World 11 shortlist 


Alisson Becker (Brazil, Liverpool FC)
David De Gea (Spain, Manchester United)
Ederson (Brazil, Manchester City)
Jan Oblak (Slovenia, Atletico Madrid)
Marc-André ter Stegen (Germany, FC Barcelona)


Jordi Alba (Spain, FC Barcelona)
Trent Alexander-Arnold (England, Liverpool FC)
Dani Alves (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain/Sao Paulo)
João Cancelo (Portugal, Juventus/Manchester City)
Daniel Carvajal (Spain, Real Madrid)
Giorgio Chiellini (Italy, Juventus)
Virgil van Dijk (The Netherlands, Liverpool FC)
Diego Godín (Uruguay, Atletico/Internazionale)
Joshua Kimmich (Germany, Bayern Munich)
Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal, SSC Napoli)
Aymeric Laporte (France, Manchester City)
Matthijs de Ligt (The Netherlands, Ajax/ Juventus)
Gerard Piqué (Spain, FC Barcelona)
Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)
Andrew Robertson (Scotland, Liverpool FC)
Alex Sandro (Brazil, Juventus)
Thiago Silva (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain)
Raphaël Varane (France, Real Madrid)
Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid)
Kyle Walker (England, Manchester City)


Sergio Busquets (Spain, FC Barcelona)
Casemiro (Brazil, Real Madrid)
Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City)
Christian Eriksen (Denmark, Tottenham Hotspur)
Frenkie de Jong (The Netherlands, Ajax/FC Barcelona)
Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea/Real Madrid)
N’Golo Kanté (France, Chelsea)
Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid)
Arthur Melo (Brazil, FC Barcelona)
Luka Modrić (Croatia, Real Madrid)
Paul Pogba (France, Manchester United)
Ivan Rakitić (Croatia, FC Barcelona)
Bernardo Silva (Portugal, Manchester City)
Dusan Tadić (Serbia, Ajax)
Arturo Vidal (Chile, FC Barcelona)


Sergio Agüero (Argentina, Manchester City)
Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid)
Roberto Firmino (Brazil, Liverpool FC)
Antoine Griezmann (France, Atletico/FC Barcelona)
Harry Kane (England, Tottenham Hotspur)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern Munich)
Sadio Mané (Senegal, Liverpool FC)
Kylian Mbappé (France, Paris Saint-Germain)
Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona)
Neymar (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus)
Mohammed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool FC)
Heung-Min Son (South-Korea, Tottenham Hotspur)
Raheem Sterling (England, Manchester City)
Luis Suárez (Uruguay, FC Barcelona)

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts