Home » Sport » Luka Modrić & Zlatko Dalić Finalists for FIFA Player & Coach of the Year

Luka Modrić & Zlatko Dalić Finalists for FIFA Player & Coach of the Year

Luka Modric (HNS)

The finalists for the Best FIFA Football Awards were revealed during a live show in London today with Croatia coach and captain both featuring. 

Luka Modrić is one of three players shortlisted for the FIFA Player of the Year award, whilst Zlatko Dalić is one of three finalists for the Coach of the Year award. 

The finalists for the FIFA Player of the Year are the same as three shortlisted for last week’s UEFA Player of the Year with Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohamed Salah and Modrić fighting it out for football’s pinnacle award. 

It is the first time Modrić, who was named UEFA Player of the Year last week, has been nominated for World Player of the Year. 

Dalić, who is also a first-time nominee, is a finalist with former Real Madrid boss Zinedine Zidane and the Netherlands’s tactician Sarina Wiegman for the FIFA Coach of the Year award. both in contention.

The Best announcement in full

Men’s Player

Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus, formerly Real Madrid)

Luka Modric (CRO/Real Madrid)

Mohamed Salah (EGY/Liverpool)

Women’s Player

Ada Hegerberg (NOR/Olympique Lyon Feminin)

Dzsenifer Marozsan (GER/Olympique Lyon Feminin)

Marta (BRA/Orlando Pride)

Men’s Coach

Zlatko Dalic (CRO/Croatia national team)

Didier Deschamps (FRA/France national team)

Zinedine Zidane (FRA/formerly Real Madrid)

Zlatko Dalic with his captain Luka Modric (HNS)

Women’s Coach

Reynald Pedros (FRA/Olympique Lyon Feminin)

Asako Takakura (JPN/Japan women’s national team)

Sarina Wiegman (NED/Netherlands women’s national team)


Thibaut Courtois (BEL/Real Madrid, formerly Chelsea)

Hugo Lloris (FRA/Tottenham Hotspur)

Kasper Schmeichel (DEN/Leicester City)

Puskas Award

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)

Denis Cheryshev (Russia)

Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK Athens)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

Giorgian de Arrascaeta (Cruzeiro)

Riley McGree (Newcastle Jets)

Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Benjamin Pavard (France)

Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Fan Award

Sebastián Carrera (CD Puerto Montt)

Japan and Senegal supporters

Peru supporters

The award winners will be revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards show in London on 24 September.

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts