Home » Sport » Luka Modrić Wins Croatia’s ‘Football Oscar’ for 4th Time

Luka Modrić Wins Croatia’s ‘Football Oscar’ for 4th Time

 Luka Modrić (photo: Mario Ćužić)

Luka Modrić (photo: Mario Ćužić)

Real Madrid star Luka Modrić has won the ‘Football Oscar’ for the best Croatian footballer of the year for the fourth year in a row…

Modrić, who again lifted the UEFA Champions League trophy this season, was presented the award at a ceremony last night in the capital Zagreb. Croatia’s ‘Football Oscars’ are based on votes by all players and coaches in the Croatian first division.

“I can only once again express my gratitude to all my Croatian colleagues and coaches as we who again awarded me this prestigious award. If the Football Oscar went to Ivan Rakitić or Ivan Perišić, who were both nominated, it would be fully deserved, because they both had a great season. Personally I feel great and I hope that all team led by coach Čačić will justify ourselves, but also the expectations of Croatian fans, of course with the necessary dose of luck. We will do our best to achieve our goal, “Modrić said upon receiving the award.

The Oscar for the best U-21 player of the year went to Dinamo Zagreb’s talented midfielder Ante Ćorić.

“Thanks everyone for the award. I debuted for the national team and I am very happy because of that. Now all I thinking of is Dinamo and the Euro in France, ” he said award receiving the award from former Dinamo Zagreb star Mark Viduka.

Ante Ćorić with Mark Viduka (photo: Mario Ćužić)

Ante Ćorić with Mark Viduka (photo: Mario Ćužić)

Dinamo Zagreb striker Marko Pjaca won HNL Player of the Year, whilst Dinamo’s double-winning coach Zoran Mamić was named Coach of the Year.

Last night's winners (photo: Mario Ćužić)

Last night’s winners (photo: Mario Ćužić)

The HNL team of the year named last night was: Lovre Kalinić (Hajduk), Josip Pivarić (Dinamo), Gordon Schildenfeld (Dinamo), Stefan Ristovski (Rijeka) Marko Lešković (Rijeka), Tino Sven Sušić (Hajduk), Ante Ćorić (Dinamo) Marko Rog (Dinamo) Ilija Nestorovski (Inter-Zaprešić), Marin Tomasov (Rijeka) Marko Pjaca (Dinamo).

Share on:
0 / 5 (0 votes)

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts

Mysterious Korčula Cave Where ‘Baba & Dida’ Were Discovered

On the south side of Mt. Pinski rat, which is located above Kale bay in Vela Luka on the southern Dalmatian island of Korčula, lies a cave that has become one of the most important archaeological sites in the whole Europe. Vela Cave (Vela spila or špilja) is a phenomenal natural attraction. About 250 square meters...

[PHOTO] First Restaurant in Croatia Receives Michelin Star Plaque

Earlier this year Michelin awarded a restaurant in Croatia with a Michelin Star for the first time. Monte in Rovinj met the strict criteria and became the first restaurant to receive the honour in Croatia. On 3 August 2017 the restaurant’s owner and chef Danijel Đekić was presented with the Michelin Star plaque, officially making...

Hrvatsko Zagorje: 10 Things to Check Out

By Iva Ralica Small green hills surrounded by streams and rivers, forests and vineyards are home to numerous little old wooden houses and magnificent castles. This magical region is settled in the northern part of Croatia, only a half an hour drive from the capital, Zagreb. It can be a perfect getaway for the weekend...

Korčula’s Famous Moreška Dance Goes Rock

The project “LIVE GROW FLOURISH” continues on the 8th of July at 21h in Korcula with a concert and a dance spectacle combining tradition and contemporary – “Moreška & Rolin Humes”. At this unique event, in front of an abandoned thermal power station next to the ferry port Dominče, the people of Korčula and their...

[VIDEO] 2CELLOS Release New Video – Schindler’s List Theme

Croatian cello duo Luka Šulić and Stjepan Hauser today released a new video from their latest album ‘Score’. 2CELLOS new video is a rendition of the theme from the movie Schindler’s List and is off their album ‘Score’ which was released a few weeks ago. The album, recorded with the London Symphony Orchestra, features tunes...