Home » Sport » Luka Modric Nominated for FIFA Player of the Year

Luka Modric Nominated for FIFA Player of the Year

Luka Modric (Photo: HNS)

Luka Modric strong contender for the title.

Croatia captain Luka Modric is among the favourites to win The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2018 award after a Croatia’s coach on the 11-man shortlist announced by FIFA today.

The ten-man shortlist for The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2018 award, which is based on their respective achievements during the period from 3 July 2017 to 15 July 2018 inclusive, was compiled by a panel of FIFA Legends including Ronaldo, Fabio Capello and Frank Lampard.

Modric, who won the Golden Ball at the recent 2018 FIFA World Cup, is one of the favourites for the award after capping off what has been a tremendous season in Russia. Modric last month claimed his 4th UEFA Champions League title with Real Madrid.


The candidates are:

Cristiano Ronaldo
Kevin De Bruyne
Antoine Griezmann
Eden Hazard
Harry Kane
Kylian Mbappe
Lionel Messi
Luka Modric
Mohamed Salah
Raphael Varane

Cristiano Ronaldo was named The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2017 in London – having received the inaugural 2016 award in Zurich – and he joins Lionel Messi, Zinedine Zidane, Kaka, Ronaldo and Ronaldinho in being voted the world’s best footballer in recent history.

You can play your part in deciding who will be The Best by casting your vote now.

Votes from fans will be evenly weighted alongside votes from journalists and national team coaches and captains.

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts