Home » Sport » Luka Modrić named in IFFHS World Team of the Decade

Luka Modrić named in IFFHS World Team of the Decade

ZAGREB, 28 January 2021 – The International Institute of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS) has just announced the ‘World’s Men’s Team of the Decade’ and there is one Croatian in the final XI. 

Croatia captain Luka Modrić has been named in the midfield of the team of the decade (2011 – 2020). Modrić earned his place in a midfield alongside Toni Kroos and Andres Iniesta.

World Cup 2022 draw

Luka Modrić (Photo credit: Светлана Бекетова/Soccer.ru)

Only one English Premier League player made the cut, Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk. Philipp Lahm, Marcelo and Sergio Ramos are the other defenders in the team. 

German keeper Manuel Neuer is in goal, whilst the striking trio consists of Cristiano Ronaldo, Robert Lewandowski and Lionel Messi. 

The team was based on a points ranking system IFFHS has used over the last decade for their positional awards. Modrić was earlier named the third best playmaker of the decade behind Lionel Messi and Andres Iniesta.


IFFHS World Team Of The Decade 2011 – 2020

GK: Manuel Neuer

RB: Philipp Lahm
CB: Sergio Ramos
CB: Virgil van Dijk
LB: Marcelo

CM: Toni Kroos
CM: Andres Iniesta
CM: Luka Modric

FW: Cristiano Ronaldo
FW: Robert Lewandowski
FW: Lionel Messi

Share on:

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts