Home » Sport » Luka Modrić, Cristiano Ronaldo & Mo Salah Up For UEFA Player of the Year

Luka Modrić, Cristiano Ronaldo & Mo Salah Up For UEFA Player of the Year

Luka Modrić (HNS)

Croatia captain Luka Modrić is one of three players nominated for the 2017/18 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award.

Modrić, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah are the three players up for the best player in Europe award.

The winner will be named during the group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 30 August. 

Three shortlisted players:

Luka Modrić

Luka Modrić (HNS)

A UEFA Champions League winner, a FIFA World Cup runner-up and recipient of the FIFA Golden Ball.

Cristiano Ronaldo

A UEFA Champions League winner for a record fifth time and UEFA Champions League top scorer for the sixth campaign running.

Mohamed Salah

 A UEFA Champions League runner-up and a multiple record breaker in his first term at Liverpool.


The shortlist of three players was selected by a jury comprising the 80 coaches of the clubs that participated in the group stages of the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League (32) and UEFA Europa League (48), along with 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, representing each of UEFA’s member associations.

Jury members chose their top three players, with the first receiving five points, the second three and the third one. Coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own team.

Share on:

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts