Home » Sport » Goran Ivanisevic becomes first Croatian elected to the International Tennis Hall of Fame

Goran Ivanisevic becomes first Croatian elected to the International Tennis Hall of Fame

Goran Ivanisevic (Photo: Croatia Open)

MELBOURNE, 28 January 2020 – Legendary Croatian tennis star Goran Ivanisevic has been elected to the International Tennis Hall of Fame. 

The Class of 2020 was announced on Tuesday at the Australian Open with Ivanisevic becoming the first Croatian ever to be elected. Along with Ivanisevic, fellow Wimbledon winner Conchita Martinez was also elected.

The induction ceremony will be held on 18 July in Newport, Rhode Island, where the hall is located.

“This is a huge honour. I am proud and humbled to become the first-ever Tennis Hall of Famer from Croatia,” Ivanisevic said. “I am grateful to the committee for selecting me for this honour and so thankful to the fans who supported me in the Fan Vote and throughout my entire career, especially so many great fans in Croatia. I am honoured and excited to become a Hall of Famer.”

“Croatia’s Goran Ivanisevic’s serve-and-volley style of play led him to great success on the grass courts of Wimbledon where he was a quarterfinalist once, semifinalist twice, and finalist three times, before winning the title in 2001. That year, ranked world No. 125, the big-serving lefty was granted a wildcard into the tournament. In a magical run to the trophy, he knocked out three players who were former or future world No. 1s en route to a five-set battle with Patrick Rafter in the final. Ivanišević is a two-time Olympic medalist, having won a singles bronze and doubles bronze, both in 1992,” the International Hall of Fame writes.

Pat Rafer & Goran Ivanisevic met in a repeat of the 2001 Wimbledon in Umag this summer (Photo: Croatia Open)

International Tennis Hall of Fame induction is the ultimate honor in tennis. Being inducted into the Hall of Fame recognizes an athlete’s achievements as being among the all-time best in the history of the sport. To date, the honor has been presented to just 257 tennis greats from 26 nations around the world, including legends like Andre Agassi, Martina Navratilova, Chris Evert, John McEnroe, Bjorn Borg, Kim Clijsters, and Martina Hingis, among others.

“We are thrilled to welcome Goran Ivanisevic and Conchita Martínez to the Hall of Fame. Between their accomplishments on court and the way they’ve represented themselves, their countries, and our sport, they are undoubtedly among the best of the best in tennis and are most deserving of tennis’ ultimate honour,”mStan Smith, president of the International Tennis Hall of Fame said.

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts