Home » Sport » Davis Cup 2019: Defending champions Croatia to face Spain & Russia

Davis Cup 2019: Defending champions Croatia to face Spain & Russia

Croatia celebrates its Davis Cup title in 2018 (Photo: Davis Cup/Twitter)

14 February 2019 – Defending champions Croatia has been drawn in the same group as Spain and Russia in the inaugural edition of the revamped Davis Cup finals after the draw was made in Madrid on Thursday. 

Zeljko Krajan’s team will meet Spain and Russia in the three-team group for the 18-nation tournament which will be played in Madrid in November. 

The World Cup style Davis Cup tournament features six groups of three. The winners of each group will advance to the last 8 of the even, together with the two-best second-place teams.

The group matches will be played from Monday-Thursday, with the knockout rounds Friday-Sunday and will be played on hard courts at the Magic Box complex in Madrid.

Davis Cup 2019 draw:

GROUP A: France, Serbia, Japan

GROUP B: Croatia, Spain, Russia

GROUP C: Argentina, Germany, Chile

GROUP D: Belgium, Australia, Colombia

GROUP E: Britain, Kazakhstan, Netherlands

GROUP F: United States, Italy, Canada

Croatia are the defending champions after beating France last November in the final Davis Cup in its old format.

The 25-year, £2.15bn revamp of the Davis Cup is funded by an investment group.

Share on:

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts