Home » Sport » Croatians Win UEFA Regions’ Cup

Croatians Win UEFA Regions’ Cup

The Croatians win the UEFA Regions’ Cup (Photo: Damir Stipkovic/HNS(

Some more Croatian football history was made in Turkey today when for the first time ever a Croatian selection has won a UEFA title and are crowned champions of Europe.

Zagreb, representing Croatia, have clinched the UEFA Regions’ Cup crown after beating Ireland’s Region 2 1-0 in Sunday’s final.

A goal from Toni Adžić’s in the 26th minute was enough to give the Croatians the title.

(Photo: Türkiye Futbol Federasyonu)

The team consisted of: : Nikola Đurđek, Matej Vrbat, Matej Ivkočić, Toni Adžić, Željko Štulec (Captain), Mario Ćibarić, Filip Soldo, Dino Lihić, Nikica Brujić, Admir Mislimi, Josip Mohač, Antonio Orlović, Marko Filipović, Luka Vranić, Luka Piršić, Ivan Švigir, Vid Krajačić, Stjepan Krznar, and Ivan Miličević. Tomislav Gričar was the coach.

The UEFA Regions’ Cup is a football competition for amateur teams in Europe, run by UEFA. It was held for the first time in 1999. Each UEFA member nation can enter one representative amateur team into the competition, with clubs having to win a domestic amateur competition in order to qualify.

The victory is the first UEFA title since Dinamo Zagreb won the 1966–67 Inter-Cities Fairs Cup, beating England’s Leeds United in the two-legged final 2–0 on aggregate. While the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup is recognised as the predecessor to the UEFA Cup, it was not organised by UEFA and is not recognised by UEFA.

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts