Home » Sport » Croatian Olympic Committee Announce 2013 Sportspeople of the Year

Croatian Olympic Committee Announce 2013 Sportspeople of the Year

sandra-perkovicThe Croatian Olympic Committee’s 2013 Sportspeople of the Year has been held at Zagreb’s Westin Hotel in Zagreb on Tuesday night…

The 2012 winner of the Sportswomen of the Year award, Olympic discus champion Sandra Perković, was again named as this year’s winner. Skier Ivica Kostelić took out the Sportsman of the Year award. Perković claimed the discus world championship in 2013, adding to her Olympic gold and European championship title, whilst Kostelić won silver this year in the world skiing championships.

The best men’s team award was won by the Croatian Water Polo team, which won bronze at this year’s World Champs and Gold at the Mediterranean Games. The best women’s team was won by the European Championship winning Croatian karate team. The Croatian rowing fours won the award for the best sporting partnership, relay or crew.

Tonči Antunović, coach of world sailing champion Tina Mihalić, won the best coach award, with rowing fours coach Nikola Bralić. Fair-play awards went to Hana Dragojević (yachting) and Vedran Bakač (table tennis).

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts