Home » News » Croatia & Fiji sign visa waiver agreement

Croatia & Fiji sign visa waiver agreement


9 February 2019 – The Governments of Croatia and Fiji have signed a visa waiver agreement on Friday. 

The agreement was signed on behalf of the Croatian Government by Croatia’s Ambassador to Australia, Betty Pavelich Sirois, and for Fiji’s Government by High Commissioner to Australia, Luke Daunivalu at a signing ceremony at the High Commission of Fiji in Canberra.

The agreement allows Croatian and Fijian citizens to visit or transit through both Fiji and Croatia without a visa for up to three months.

Formal diplomatic relations were first established between Croatia and Fiji back in 1997 and the visa waiver agreement introducing is being seen and an important step in helping strengthen relations between the Pacific and European nations.  

“The reciprocal visa arrangement will, amongst other things, benefit Fiji in the areas of socioeconomic development, investment, tourism and educational partnerships,” the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said in a statement.

Fiji’s High Commissioner to Australia His Excellency Mr Luke Daunivalu with Croatia’s Ambassador to Australia, Her Excellency Betty Bernardica Pavelich Sirois during the successful signing of the Visa Free agreement (Fiji Ministry of Foreign Affairs)

Ambassador Pavelich Sirois and High Commissioner Daunivalu agreed that the the agreement is step towards strengthening cooperation in economic, cultural exchanges and sports such as soccer and rugby, as well as tourism.

Fiji is located around 1,100 nautical miles northeast of New Zealand’s North Island with its archipelago consisting of more than 330 islands, of which 110 are permanently inhabited. The two major islands, Viti Levu and Vanua Levu,  account for nearly 90% of the total population of just under 1 million people.

Share on:

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts