Home » Business » 5 EU Countries Close Door on Croatian Workers for at Least 3 More Years

5 EU Countries Close Door on Croatian Workers for at Least 3 More Years

Croatia22Two years ago today Croatia became the 28th member state of the European Union. On Tuesday the European Commission received official notice from five nations who will further enforce restrictions on Croatian workers for at least another 3 years…

Austria, the Netherlands, UK, Slovenia and Malta have informed the Commission that they will extend restrictions on Croatian workers in their labour market. Cyprus have yet to make their position known.

When Croatia joined the EU in 2013, Greece, France, Germany, Holland, Cyprus, Austria, UK, Slovenia, Belgium, Spain, Luxembourg, Italy and Malta all exercised their right to impose restrictions on Croatian workers. Belgium, Spain, Luxembourg, Italy, Germany, France and Greece have already announced that they will lift restrictions from 1 July this year.

Seven years is the maximum period countries can keep restrictions in place for Croatian workers, with the next period restrictions can be lifted by those nations still enforcing restrictions is 2018.

Portugal, Poland, Sweden, Romania, Hungary, Ireland, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Latvia and Lithuania did not impose any restrictions at all on Croatian workers back in 2013.

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts