Home » Sport » 2018 Croatian sports awards held in Zagreb 

2018 Croatian sports awards held in Zagreb 

The winners from last night’s awards (Photo: HNS)

ZAGREB – The 2018 Croatian sports awards, held by the Croatian Olympic Committee (HOO), took place at the Westin Hotel in Zagreb last night. 

The best individuals and teams in 2018 were awarded, as well as a lifetime achievement award.  

“In 2018 Croatian sportsmen and women took part in around 700 world and European competitions, winning 292 medals, of which 72 were gold, 85 silver and 11 bronze,” HOO Josip Čop said on the evening.  

For the seventh year in a row, discus champion Sandra Perković was named Croatian sportswoman of the year, whilst Luka Modrić took away the sportsman of the year award. With Modrić on duty at the FIFA Club World Cup, the award was accepted by his father Stipe. 

Sandra Perković with her award (Instagram)

The silver medal-winning Croatian football team won team of the year, whilst the Davis Cup-winning Croatian tennis team were given a special award on the night for their efforts. 

Stipe Modrić collects the award on behalf of his son (Instagram)

Ana Marija Bujas Čelan, Marina Barac, Ana Lenard and Alessandra Hasani, who made up the Croatian karate team, who women’s team of the year. 

Winning karate team (Photo: HOO)

Zlatko Dalić won coach of the year, whilst rowers Martin and Valent Sinković won the best pair. 

Zlatko Dalić receives his award (Photo: HOO)

Sinković brothers (Instagram)

BMX champion Marin Ranteš won HOO’s Fair Play award, with Vjekoslav Šafranić, Branko Omazić, Danko Jerković, Ante Tanfara and Rudar handball club winning lifetime achievement awards.

Croatian Davis Cup tennis team with their award (Photo: HOO)

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts