Home » Sport » 2 Croats Shortlisted for UEFA Team of the Year

2 Croats Shortlisted for UEFA Team of the Year

Croatia127UEFA have released a list of contenders for its annual ‘Team of the Year’, with two Croatians making the cut…

Real Madrid’s Luka Modrić and Barcelona’s Ivan Rakitić are both among 12 midfielders nominated to make UEFA’s Team of the Year, which will be announced at the start of next year. Modrić and Rakitić will be hoping to become the first Croatians to make the team of the year. Voting has opened on UEFA’s official website, and will close on 6 January. A 4-4-2 formation will be selected from the following players.

GOAL KEEPERS: Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium, Chelsea), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy, Juventus), Beto (Portugal, Sevilla)

DEFENDERS: Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Diego Godin (Uruguay, Atletico Madrid), Miranda (Brazil, Atletico Madrid), Vincent Kompany (Belgium, Manchester City), Jerome Boateng (Germany, Bayern), Medhi Benatia (Morocco, Bayern), David Alaba (Austria, Bayern), Ezequiel Garay (Argentina, Zenit), Mats Hummels (Germany, Borussia Dortmund), Philipp Lahm (Germany, Bayern), Pablo Zabaleta (Argentina, Manchester City), Dani Carvajal (Spain, Real Madrid)

MIDFIELDERS: Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid), Luka Modrić (Croatia, Real Madrid), Angel Di Maria (Argentina, Manchester United), Arjen Robben (Holland, Bayern), Ivan Rakitić (Croatia, Barcelona), James Rodriguez (Columbia, Real Madrid), Koke (Spain, Atletico Madrid), Xabi Alonso (Spain, Bayern), Marco Reus (Germany, Borussia Dortmund), Paul Pogba (France, Juventus), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast, Manchester City), Arda Turan (Turkey, Atletico Madrid)

STRIKERS: Gareth Bale (Wales, Real Madrid), Diego Costa (Spain, Chelsea), Thomas Mueller (Germany, Bayern), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden Paris Saint-Germain), Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern), Alexis Sanchez (Chile, Arsenal), Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Jonatan Soriano (Spain, Salzburg), Carlos Tevez (Argentina, Juventus), Neymar (Brazil, Barcelona)

Sign up to receive the Croatia Week Newsletter

Related Posts